Leading Photovoltaic Companies Welcome EU’s Review on the Exemption of PV from the RoHS Directive within three years


Sandvika, December 1, 2010; Leading Photovoltaic companies continue to support the inclusion of PV in the RoHS Directive in an effort to support the safe and sustainable growth of the industry.

The undersigned support the announcement by the European Commission to review the exemption for the PV industry from the Directive.
The next full recast of the RoHS Directive will take place within ten years. However, environmental, health and safety concerns about certain substances which are used in some PV technologies still exist. The European Commission as well as major political groups in the European Parliament have clearly expressed their intention to review the Directive within three years.

As PV is a green technology helping the EU to achieve its environmental goals, the industry should meet the EU’s requirements on environmental protection and consumer safety. The undersigning companies welcome the European Commission’s announcement that it will review the scope of RoHS and its interest in initiating legislative action if needed.

For further information please contact:
Atersa: Director of Technology, Enrique Daroqui, +34 915178452, edaroqui@atersa.com
Bosch Solar: Head of Communications, Heide Traemann, +49 36121951181, heide.traemann@de.bosch.com
Photovoltech: General Manager, Johan F. Nijs, +32 16805851, johan.nijs@photovoltech.be
REC: Vice President CSR, Mette Vågnes Eriksen, +47 93224100, mette.vagnes.eriksen@recgroup.com
SolarWorld: Vice President, Milan Nitzschke, +49 1605869649, milan.nitzschke@solarworld.de
Solland: Director Sourcing & Supply Chain; Bart Zuidhof, +31 458800600, bzuidhof@sollandsolar.com
Wacker: Senior Manager Corporate Communication & Information, Christof Bachmair, +49 8962791830,
christof.bachmair@wacker.com